marshtide: (Default)
[personal profile] marshtide
Since I'm trying to be a bit more vocal and active around here, an introduction might help. Let's see! Some kind of overall guide. Oh dear, I never was any good at those... I suppose not having a terribly stable sense of who I am or what it is I want to define myself by doesn't help.

Hmm.

I'm Liz. I'm 23 25. I'm a bit of a European mongrel, with a Ukrainian surname and an accent of no particular origin. I'm from the UK, despite having been told several times while working with the public that I speak English very well for a foreigner, but at the beginning of 2010 I moved to a small-ish town in Sweden to live with the person described on my immigration papers as "de facto spouse", hereafter known as Val. (I hope one day to speak Swedish very well for a foreigner, but will settle for speaking it comprehensibly if necessary.) Our household is the two of us and her son, hereafter known as J. He's 10. If you ever felt your home was too tidy, or even just not covered in enough jam, I recommend a 10 year old child.

I'm an archaeologist by training but haven't worked as one in a while. I'm interested in librarianship and archiving, but am not qualified. At the moment I'm a full-time language-learner, so if things keep coming back to the Swedish language and settling down in Sweden, well, bear with me, right?

I read all sorts of things! With a particular love for Virginia Woolf, Tove Jansson, Italo Calvino, Haruki Murakami and more. I write things (quietly)! I love queer history of various sorts, and social history of many more sorts, particularly the bits that people don't talk about so much. I'm pretty invested in gay rights and feminism, but not actually active in movements right now. I follow the news even though it makes me angry constantly. I'm the daughter of two vets, with yet another vet for a stepmother, and have no patience with people who don't look after animals (but also no patience with people who think it's OK to hurt other humans to get that message across). I've been vegetarian for substantial chunks of my life, and am functionally almost vegetarian right now because I live with one, but try to remember to eat meat or fish sometimes because it keeps my body happy. I also can't eat gluten; eating out together is an adventure!

I'm a bit obsessed with the sea, particularly coastlines, as the username might indicate. I grew up on the coast of North Norfolk, which is low-lying and faces out onto the North Sea, and the whole area is marshy and shifting and undefined so that one can hardly decide where solid land begins. I grew up sailing boats, paddling canoes, and swimming in tidal water. I also grew up with winter storms where you could hear the sea from a mile away, warning sirens and flood gates. The sea is something I want to be near and also that I know to respect. I talk about living on an island in the Baltic sometimes as the place I'd like to end up, and I mostly mean it. Although the fine details are negotiable. Basically all of this probably goes a long way to explaining why Tove Jansson is one of my favourite writers right now.

What else would you like to know? I've been in fandom for years but don't have any particular fandom that feels like a part of my life right now. I'm still interested in anime and manga but with big reservations about a lot of it; I do love things like Rose of Versailles fairly whole-heartedly, and have a special fondness for a bunch of other series, including Utena, Princess Tutu, Oniisama E, Samurai Champloo, Black Lagoon, Planetes... I could keep going, but I don't know as I'm likely to talk about them much unless something really provokes me. I'm in love with Cirkus Cirkör, the eccentric little circus troupe that wants to change the world (site in Swedish & English). I have a semi-functional knowledge of the arcane art that is English church bell-ringing (as showcased in Dorothy Sayers' The Nine Tailors), despite a lack of any religious leaning, though I'll admit to being years and years out of practice. When I was much younger I was a fairly good skater and have medals to show for it. Music? Yes, lots, and without respect for genre. You can find a few of the front-runners listed in my interests. I have experience with fairly crippling physical health problems, though I'm pretty healthy right now, and with entirely crippling mental healyh problems, with which the battle is ongoing but not going too badly right now, all things considered.

Also, I don't really do well with speaking up in groups, or even with being in groups at all, actually, but I'm trying.


And if you actually read all of that I feel I should probably be handing out some kind of award.

Date: 2010-04-19 02:47 pm (UTC)
annotated_em: chibi Yukimura (Prince of Tennis), chin on hands, smiling. (Sei-chan)
From: [personal profile] annotated_em
What kind of award? Is it a shiny one? I like shiny things.

Date: 2010-04-19 08:46 pm (UTC)
pulchritude: (7)
From: [personal profile] pulchritude
I think this is a really good intro! Much better than the rubbish I write, anyway. :)

Date: 2010-04-20 12:22 am (UTC)
forthwritten: stained glass spiral (Default)
From: [personal profile] forthwritten
Hello! I really like your description of the sea and the land that has one foot in both.

Profile

marshtide: (Default)
Toft

December 2012

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30 31     

Style Credit

Page generated Sep. 24th, 2017 03:15 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags

Most Popular Tags